Global Warming and Sexism?

After my last post discussing (proprietor of Skeptical Science) John Cook’s tendency to fabricate quotes, I got an e-mail from a reader suggesting I review the quotes in the book he had written, Climate Change Denial: Heads in the Sand.

I hadn’t realized Cook had written a book. Intrigued, I decided to do as the reader suggested. I ordered a copy for Kindle, downloaded it and opened it up. I haven’t gotten past that part though. I keep laughing every time I try. You see, this is the first page I saw:

11-17-Cook-Foreward

I know global warming is more popular with liberals than conservatives. I also know the same is true for “feminism.” However, it boggles my mind to think people actually believe deniers “are nearly all men.” I’ve never seen such a claim before, and it doesn’t make much sense. After all, according to John Cook:

Consensus_Gap_med

Cook performed a survey (which he never published) which found 55% of Americans believe there is a consensus on global warming. If nearly all deniers are men, nearly every man in the United States must be a denier. That’s the only way for what the foreword says to be true. But if that’s the case, there can’t be some liberal/conservative split. It’s really just a battle of the sexes. Men suck, women rule.

Or maybe this foreword is just stupid and wrong.

5 comments

  1. It’s fascinating how Cook and friends are so utterly deficient in self-understanding. That forward describes your skeptical challenge to his bogus research perfectly. And he can’t see even see it.

  2. I am fully behind you with your Cook campaign.
    However, I think there is a misunderstanding of what Cook has stated here. He is saying that Americans believe 55% of scientists back the consensus, not that 55% of Americans do.

  3. John Catley, I agree that’s a distinction we should make. The actual question asked was:

    How many climate experts agree that the global warming we are witnessing is a direct consequence of the burning of fossil fuels by humans?

    I’m not actually sure how he got the 55% value. He’s never published this survey, but he did publish a figure which is more informative. You can see it here. I don’t know how he translated that into a single value, but I suppose someone could use it to estimate what the responses were.

    Anyway, you’re right about the difference. It’s likely the values are about equal, and John Cook himself has used the value the same way I have, but I should have chosen a different example (there are tons of polls available). I just went with that one because it is from Cook himself.

    By the way, there is no “Cook campaign” here. I don’t have any real interest in Cook as a person, and I’m not “out to get him” or anything like that. Right now, the issue is just I find misquotations disturbing. I’ve focused on him because he incessantly publishes misquotations.

    And of course, when looking for more misquotations, I can’t ignore other strange things I see.

  4. This is a very badly written survey question:

    How many climate experts agree that the global warming we are witnessing is a direct consequence of the burning of fossil fuels by humans?

    If he had said “some of the warming”, the question would have been okay.

    Beyond that he doesn’t even understand his own survey, if he thinks his 97% applies to individual researchers.

Leave a Reply

