One Year

Well folks, today is this site’s one year anniversary. I can’t believe it. I never wanted to be a blogger. I started this site as a journal for random thoughts I have so I didn’t have to pester people in real life with them. Now, I’m not sure what it is.

Part of me wants to say this is just another a blog about global warming. The problem is I don’t really discuss global warming. Most of my posts have been about topics which arose from the global warming debate, but I’ve never argued anything about global warming itself. The truth is I don’t care about global warming.

Part of me wants to say this is just my online journal. Only, we all know it isn’t. I’ve intentionally used this site to exert some small influence on the external world. My most read post was the one where I directly challenged the University of Queensland to follow up on their legal threats. Clearly, this is not just an online journal.

I don’t know what this site is. I’ve written posts with the intent of reviewing fiction books (e.g. here), but I never followed through on the idea. I’ve argued a publicly praised business is actually an illegal enterprise. I’ve mocked feminist insanity. I’ve written lengthy commentaries on fundamental philosophical points, including an explanation of the “right” answer to the most widely argued mathematical issue (does .9 repeating equal 1).

I’ve written all this and more in 176 posts. These 176 posts have received 176,127 views. I don’t how “good” that is. In fact, I don’t know what to make of any of this. All I know is I made this “blog” because I thought it would be fun and interesting.

It has been.

I suppose I should sign off with a message to anyone reading this. I don’t know what to tell you though. I’m me. This site is an extension of me.

And I’m going to be around for a while.

8 comments

  1. Brandon,

    I hope you’re enjoying your blogging as much as I enjoy reading it.

    And I certainly hope both you and your blog are around for a long while.

    Congrats,
    Russ

  2. Russ, thanks! I’ve definitely enjoyed having this outlet.

    I’m afraid this site and I may not be around for much longer though. That global warming thing is supposed to kill us all in the next few months, I think. I mean, that is supposed to happen at some point, right?

Leave a Reply

